Hey, I’m No Expert!

25 09 2007

Well, I don’t know exactly when it happend but it appears that my non-Muslim friends and family  have declared me their “Official Expert and Consultant on everything Muslim, Islam, or anything remotley related to the two.”  This became all too apparent yesterday when my phone began ringing off the hook. What did everyone want to discuss? The President of Iran’s visit to NYC. 

This process is repeated anytime anything that may be remotley related to Islam or a Muslim is mentioned in the news. Though, my aquaintences tend to group Islam, Muslims, Middle East, Arabs, and any other dominatley Muslim country in the same category. So, you can rightfully imagine I keep well in touch with my relatives.

 It’s really quite funny that people expect me to have an opinion about anything Muslim, Islam, Middle Eastern, etc related.  Don’t get me wrong, I usually ALWAYS have an opinion and am all to happy to give it. However, it’s strange to be deferred to and a huge responsibility on my part. It is a responsibility because I am these people’s only link to Islam and Muslims and as I mentioned before they tend to have a very broad definition of what that encompasses. Therefore, what I say (or don’t say) will make an impact on their views of  Islam in general.  Alas,  I’m not an expert on Islam or even the culture of the various “Muslim Countries.”In fact, I am highly lacking in the latter. As for the former, I know the basics but certainly I’m no expert. Neither am I a pyschologist so I don’t know “why those people do what they do.”  And That’s the crux of the matter.

I don’t think any muslim would discourage asking questions. However, it has to be said that we don’t all know what we’re talking about all the time. ;) Sometimes, we don’t know the answers to questions regarding international politics. Sometimes, we have misconceptions ourselves that taint our views of current events.  Sometimes, we don’t even know the answers to questions about Islam.  As Muslims, if we don’t know something or can’t say something constructive we should not be too arrogant to admit it and go ask someone who does know. As for Non Muslims, feel free to keep asking (taking into consideration the above points) and if we don’t know something insh’Allah we’ll find someone who does and relay the information or point you in their direction. :D

By the way, I also saw Donald Trump last night on CNN being interviewed about politics. I may be a bit out of the loop but uhhh why were they interviewing him? Honestly, I have no idea.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2007
Shahrzad

loool, I can understand what you say, Anyway, you saw our Mr presidents interviews finally? What was your opinian if you saw? :D

26 09 2007
Shahrzad

Circle of Unity, Quran Reading by Bloggers:

http://shahrzaad.wordpress.com/circle-of-unity/

The page is Ready.. Come and Join..

And if you can link to it to inform others.. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

