In-Laws, Non Muslim family breakthrough, and Aliens in America

19 10 2007

Well, there has been a whirlwind of activity here with my in-laws visiting, eid, and we even made a trip to my hometown with the in-laws. It was all great fun.  I have basically only found time to post articles of benefit and of course the eid around the world post which was a bit time consuming. Insh’Allah you guys liked it!?

 But now that things have wound down some, I thought that I would do a personal post.

My eid this year was fabulous. The highlight of my eid was my non muslim family members calling to wish us “Eid Mubarak.”  This is the first time that they have done so. We have truly come so far in understanding and tolerating each other.  I mean, when I first converted I was basically put out of the house. Now, years later we have built our relationship back up enough that they are comfortable participating somewhat in our holiday. It is a beautiful thing.

Another highlight was having my in-laws with us.  Eid in our medium sized community is not even close to the magnitude of eid in their home country.  I was really worried that they would be disappointed. So, I asked my husband to take us to a larger community for eid. Mash’Allah everyone had a wonderful time! My three year old is still happily chattering about it. Later, my in-laws told us that the reason their eid was so happy was because we were with them and the size of the party didn’t matter. Mash’Allah how sweet is that! Alhamdullilah, I’m blessed with lovely in-laws.  I’ll be sad to see them go home.

Having my in-laws here has also improved  my bi lingual capabilities. One of my in laws only speaks their native language. So, I was forced to speak it pretty much day in and day out. The funny thing was asking my three year old (who is quite fluent) to translate some things. loool :D But overall, my husband and in-laws have been complementing me on my usage of the language. So, I’m improving. Alhamdullilah. Practice makes perfect, as they say.

Unfortunatley, I have a strained muscle in my back which has been quite painful. I guess it is no wonder given that I haul 20-35 lbs. kids around. So, the doctor said. I finally went to the doctor and got the diagnosis. Insh’Allah it will be better soon. Alhamdulliah for everything, though.

On another note, I have been watching the new CW show: Aliens in America. It is about a midwestern family who decide to take in a foreign exchange student in hopes of boosting their dorky son’s reputation. They are expecting a white,blonde haired, blue eyed jock and instead a pakistani boy dressed in a kameez and kufi shows up (Raja). It goes on to chronical his life with the host family and highschool. 

The show has it’s sweet moments, moments of seriousness. One of those moments came at the end of the pilot episode. The mother had purchased a plane ticket back to Pakistan for Raja  but then she sees him and her son (who forms a bond with Raja) packing. She makes a comment about his parents missing him and he tells her that his parents are dead. At that moment, she sees him not as a “Muslim” or “Terrorist” but as a boy.  So,  he stays.

However, other than those few moments of seriousness and comedy, the show is basically geared more towards pre-teens. It seems as if it belongs more or less on disney channel.  I still like it though , if nothing else because it portrays Muslims as normal people rather than terrorists or terrorist supporters. 








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers