25 05 2007

My Journey to Islam

I grew up in a small southern town. I attended church all my life and was raised by a missionary mother and a very religious step-father. In fact, I was well on my way to becoming a missionary as well. Although, I had been to the alter several times I never felt the feeling that I had always heard you were ‘supposed’ to feel when you are saved. I never had a peace or a contentment. I would cry all night and read the Bible in search of the truth. I would speak with sunday school teachers, my mother and pastors of various denominations and churches. However, try as i may, I could NEVER feel as though i was saved. So, I finally ,feeling embarassed, put those feelings on the backburner and decided even if I didn’t feel it I would fake it.

All this would change during my last years of highschool…

My junior year in highschool I met a Muslim at my mother’s workplace. He gave me his sisters telephone number and I took it with the sole intent to convert her to Christianity. The more I spoke with this girl the more I realized that she did raise some good points. She wasn’t the opressed victim that I had always perceived Muslim women to be. Rather she was outgoing and opinionated. She spoke up for herself and her beleifs. Even though, I was sure she was going to Hell I was still impressed by her personality and convictions. My relationship with this girl continued to grow as did her patience with me. She would spend countless hours answering my questions. The more i studied her religion the more I was enamored by it.

Finally, I began to realize that Jesus did seem more as a Prophet than a son of God and the more i studied the teachings of Jesus i saw that Muhammad taught the same things. However, i wasn’t ready to convert just yet.

I continued praying excessively that God would guide me and help me to “be saved.” Then one day, I woke up and read a passage of the Qur’an:
Let there be no compulsion in religion: Truth stands out clear from Error: whoever rejects evil and believes in Allah hath grasped the most trustworthy hand-hold, that never breaks. And Allah heareth and knoweth all things. (Qur’an 2:256).

At that point I knew that i believed in Islam and didn’t want to hesitate anymore. I had literally almost woken up a muslim. After all the nights spent in prayer asking God to guide me. I was guided.

Immediatley I called the sister to go to the masjid. We traveled the 2 hours to the Masjid and I took the shahada (Islamic testimony of faith: La ilaha il Allah, Muhammad-ur-Rasool-Allah :None has the right to be worshipped but Allah, and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah).

Then, it happend. I felt it immediatley. It felt as if i had huge weights lifted off my shoulders and my heart opened up. I felt an undescribeable peace and calm. An amazing tranquility came over me. Alhamdullilah, Allahu Akbar( All praise and thanks are due to Allah and Allah is the Greatest)

Then began my journey as a Muslimah…..


Actions

Information

17 responses

27 05 2007
umm Mahmoud

Assalamu alekum, MASHA ALLAH!

May Allah reward you for sharing your amazing story. So many people out there are searching for “THE TRUTH” knowing it is out there, but it just needs to be found. Insha Allah-God willing many will read how your path twisted and turned and be encouraged to look outside of their box to find the true magnificence of Islam. May you be an inspiration for many…ameen!

Love you for the sake of Allah.
umm Mahmoud

27 05 2007
SeriousNiqaabi

As Salaamu Alaykum Sister…

Masha’Allah beautiful story about you reverting to Islam…. Insha’Allah you will be rewarded for having your blog and spreading the beauty of Islam in your good deeds.. ameen ya rab

27 05 2007
Amina

assalam awalaikum sister,

Your story was very beautiful.Mashallah. I am looking forward to seeing more. I already added you to my favorites so I will be checking back a lot lol, ever heard the saying “can’t get enough of a good thing” lol😛

masalama

Amina

27 05 2007
southernmuslimah

Wa alaikum assalaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu sisters,

Jazak Allahu Khairan for replying.🙂
insh’Allah i will try to update every few days.

27 05 2007
Jennifer

Assalamu Alaikum Sister,

Alhamdulillah, finding your way to Islam. Wasn’t that feeling of Allah accepting your acceptance of what this world is all about the most amazing feeling. It sounds like most of your life you were close, as was I being a practicing but faking Christian. But just one little step, and boom… you are there and your heart is overflowing.

May Allah continue to guide you and all of us on our journey, insha Allah.

Jennifer

28 05 2007
southernmuslimah

Wa Alaikum Assalaam Wa rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu sister Jennifer,

Yes, Alhamdullilah it was the best feeling like the weight of the world had been lifted off my shoulders. Which in some sense it had since it took alot of work and anxiety to carry on trying to be the perfect christian when in my heart i knew i didn’t believe it or feel it. Then you are right that one nudge and mash’Allah the best feeling.

Jazak Allahu Khairan for checking out my blog sister and commenting.🙂 Insh’Allah hope to see you around more in the future!

ameen to your dua.

28 05 2007
Michelle Umm Sarah

Asalamu alaikum, sister,
Subhan’Allah! May Allah (swt) reward you for sharing. Isn’t it amazing that most of our stories are so similar (I too never felt “it” in my heart when they made altar calls). Many baraka to you and your family.
wa alaikum salam,
Michelle Umm Sarah

29 05 2007
sr nichole

As’salam alaikum!
That is a wonderful story. I am interested how life ensued. How did your family react, work, friends, etc. I live (as Im sure others do) in a town with no muslims. It is difficult. Alhumdolillah…BTW, I never really felt whole either as a christian, but my family was.
Wa alaikum as’salam wa ramatullah
sr nichole

29 05 2007
southernmuslimah

Wa Alaikum Assalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu Sister Nichole and Michelle,
Insh’Allah I will be updating this one tomorrow.
Yeah, Mash’Allah sister michelle. Alhamdullilah we were guided to Islam and was finally able to feel the peace and contentment that we longed for.
Sister Nichole,I also was the only Muslim in my town. So, seems we have alot of similarities there. And I know you must know how difficult that is!
Thanks for checking out my blog.
jazak Allahu Khairan.

2 06 2007
umelhelween

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته
dear sister

alhamdulilah for the hidayah
alhamdulilah for thr right path
alhamdulilah for being a MUSLIM
nice blog
in shaa’allah i will pass by alot..
i saved it in my favorates🙂
luv ya for the sake of ALLAH

2 06 2007
southernmuslimah

Wa Alaikum Assalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu sister Umelhelween,

Alhamdullilah.

Jazak Allahu Khairan ukti for visiting my site.🙂 Insh’Allah I hope to hear more from you.

3 06 2007
UmmJannahandJathiah

Salaamwalaikum,
Sister, I am glad that you were able to come up with all of this and share it. I see much of myself in your stories, many of my thoughts in your thoughts, many of my jokes in your jokes (no, Im not really hot…what’s the temp again? 100.1? No, really, Im not hot. Hellfire is though.) I would like to pass this along to all of those friends and family that got dawa from me and still have not teetered to this other side we celebrate ourselves as Islam. Maybe hearing your stories will help some of them. Thanks for sharing your life with all of us.
May Allah the Most Merciful reward you for your efforts.

4 06 2007
southernmuslimah

Wa Alaikum Assalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu Sister,

Mash’Allah! Thank you so much for visiting my blog. Insh’Allah feel free to pass it on…..

May Allah reward you and always keep you and us all on the Qur’an and Sunnah. ameen.

4 06 2007
adikbongsu

Salam sister,

*sob sob*…am most touched by your story…
subhanallah….*hugs*…

may I know your name sister?…
you can email me if you do not want to reveal it online…

jazakillah!….

21 07 2007
Black

Black

Cool! Its really cool.

17 07 2008
Aslam

Dear sister, you are doing great job.. may ALLAH GIVE you wonderful lifen and akhirah… FI AMAAN ALLAH
Aslam kuwait

16 10 2008
Silentside

Assalam-o-alaikyum
Inspiring story!
The way Allah taa’la turned events in your favour and in response to your prayer towards him.
Jazakallah for sharing it.

May Allah guide you throughout your life.[Aameen]

Leave a Reply

