Yes, I am hot… but not as hot as you!

28 05 2007

*First of all, let me note that this is just for fun. None of us Muslimahs mind people coming up to us asking questions about our religion in a calm open minded manner. In fact, we encourage asking questions.*

It never fails. Every summer here in the south (in 100+ degree heat nonetheless) someone asks me the question that I wouldn’t be surprised if every single muslimah has been asked once in her life. That is,”Are you hot?” Of course I am hot! It’s 100 degrees never mind the humidity, everyone is hot.

It’s funny actually. When I first converted to Islam and began wearing the hijab, I would try to brush it off. I’d say, “No, I’m not really hot.”. Then, as a year went by, my response changed to trying to educate them about the hijab and it’s benefits (loose and airy, provides a cover so the skin doesn’t get damaged). Fast forward a few years and now my response is simply,” yes. “

Seriously, I think all of us hijabis living in warm climates should make ourselves flyers to just hand out when we are asked that silly question. Because, you can be assured even the most patient muslimah is tested when she is being held up in severe heat, her hands full, kids hanging off her and tugging at her abaya, with a nice air conditioned building in sight while being asked questions about whether she is hot.

Printing up flyers would so much easier. Simple just hand it to the person and walk on to the nice air conditioned building.In fact, the person asking you will probably be trying to give you a flyer for some bogus knock off products, or even better a pamphlet sponsored by some church to try and “save your soul before it’s too late.”

So my proposed flyer would go as follows:

Title: “Yes, I’m hot but not as hot as you!”

*The loose garments of a Muslim woman provides circulation of air so that the heat stays away from the body.

*The covering prevents the skin from damage such as but not limited to:skin cancer, freckles, moles, the dreaded WRINKLES, and hair breakage.

*Hell is hotter.

*No I’m not forced to wear this. Look around do you see anyone who is here to force me? (you know they are wondering this too, so you might as well throw it in there.)

hehe. insh’Allah the other hijabi’s out there can remember this when this question is posed and have a laugh.🙂

So, what are your suggestions? I’m curious to know how other hijabi’s deal with this question. Surely, I’m not the only one!

question-marks.jpg


Actions

Information

10 responses

28 05 2007
carimuslima

Hey when you finish those flyers don’t forget to hand one out to me😉 !!!!!

You’re so right hehehe it just would b easier to have a flyer in our handbag just to give it to someone whose about to question “Aren’t you hot under all that clothing” Well put sis… it seems we’re tested more on our patience when summer rolls around thanks for that reminder.

29 05 2007
balqees

Assalaamu alaikum.

Ah, yes, that infinitely inevitable question. I’ve been asked it every time…whenever I visit the states, and in particular whenever I go shopping anywhere while there. (i no longer live in the US).

One time I was asked…isn’t that hard to wear (meaning the wrap-around scarf)?? My response was…yes, it was hard at first…but I’ve learned to adjust myself to it.

Actually, even tho many times the question comes at a rather irritating time and irritating manner (so many times rather condescending by the questioner)…still I have found it to be an excellent door opener and quite a chance for me to tell them a bit about Islam (i.e. dawa)…and to explain to them in the most positive of manners, the meaning of the hijab, and what it means to me.

So, my advice to all the sisters who ever find themselves in position that they are asked this question or something similar…is to have the patience, and take firm hold on this opportunity to spread knowledge and the truth about Islam…to dispel the many misconceptions of Islam.

balqees.

29 05 2007
southernmuslimah

Assalaamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu Sister Balqees,

Mash’Allah very well put. Jazak Allahu Khairan.

Thanks for checking out my blog.🙂

1 06 2007
Amina

assalam awalaikum,

When someone asks me are u hot? I just look at them and I say are u hot?I can see you sweating.
with this I continue stating that. Yes I am hot. As you are. If it is 90 degres for you it is 90 degres for me.
I do not feel hotter then you simple because 1) I am accustomed to the clothing I am wearing 2) The sun isn’t directly burning my skin.
I’ve been outside before I converted wearing tank tops and short shorts and burt skins hurts alot more then wearing a long light lose blouse that keeps the air circulating.

Just a side note before I converted my grandmother who is a christian minister actually used to try to convince me that wearing blouses and skirts would keep you coole rin the summer cuz it traps and circulates the air.

just posting my lil comments
amina

4 06 2007
adikbongsu

Assalamu’alaikum dear sister,

Thanks for dropping by my site, its a pleasure to know another sister-in-islam…

wow!….i just simply love reading your entries…they are both meaningful and beautiful to the soul.

Talking about “Are you hot?” I had the same experienced but mine was that the moment someone commented “Are you hot?”…..miraculously … at that instant I felt my body temperature cooling off…. I was quite amazed and realised that these happened only with the blessing from Allah s.w.t.
🙂

17 06 2007
Maha Abdo

Assalamu alaikum,

Ah yes. The perennial question. We should go around during winter asking all the crazies still wearing shorts and tees if they’re cold.

The other day, I had quite a first. I was in the elevator, and I was wearing a light colored abaya and matching shyla (sp?), and a guy said to me, “You must be very cool in that dress.” I had to ask him to repeat himself. Finally! Someone got it! And I didn’t have to explain anything! And yes, it was hot out.

Wassalam,
Maha

25 06 2007
HijabiApprentice

“The perennial question. We should go around during winter asking all the crazies still wearing shorts and tees if they’re cold.”

Exactly!!! When it rains and people are scrambling for umbrellas I always say that I am glad I have an automatic hair protector LOL! And also, dude, I live in Louisiana and it was 104 degrees with the heat index the other day so I’m sure EVERYONE was hot! Oy Vey! I think people just want the opportunity to say something even if it is non-sensical.

ma’a salaamah,

ha

25 06 2007
Umm Yusuf

Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

Mash’Allah sister Maha! Maybe all our hard work of explaining to everyone we meet is finally paying off….or maybe someone is giving out pamphlets somewhere hehehe.

Thanks for visiting

ha, lol……..you are so right, always looking to make a smart, smug comment. lol, it usually does backfire on them though.

Just for fun, I was asked about a week ago and told the clerk, “nah, I’m cool as a cucumber.” hehehe.

11 01 2008
Brown Man

That was very entertaining and a good read. Thank you for it. Maybe the next time someone asks you that, the person will be wearing the following shirt:

http://www.brownmanclothing.com/desiguy.html

29 01 2009
Nadia

I had a conversation about this with another sister once and we were discussing possible answers. She said that someone once asked her the expected question, “Are you hot?” and she said “Aren’t you?” and laughed, and after that the two were able to talk for a while longer.

Thanks for the other possible answers! Texas heat is murderous and I’ll keep those in mind!

Leave a Reply

