Is Organic Better???

4 07 2007

I would appreciate ANY imput on this!

Are organic products better than convential products? Why or why not?What about organic bath and body products?

I am seeing more and more organic products in the local drugstores and grocery stores. In some magazines and media reports I hear organic is the way to go. In some I hear that it isn’t any better than conventional products. It’s kind of confusing to me. I would like to hear opinions from people who have actual experience with using organic products.


Actions

Information

12 responses

4 07 2007
dancingmoogle

Hello,

When I can afford them I prefer to get organic foods, however, are they actually more nutritious for you is up to debate. I prefer organic because they are not supposed to use pesticides in fruits and veggies, and antibiotics and growth hormones in meats. If for no other reason, I think that probably makes them healthier as poisons are not used on them. I also like the fact that it is healthier for the wildlife in a far that doesn’t use pesticides. The downside is that you might have to share a little bit of the produce with a worm or two, but I have found that they don’t usually eat enough to matter all that much. 🙂

I also think they taste better. It is more reminicent of the way food tasted right from the garden when I was growing up in Alabama. Especially with the tomatoes and corn. I find it hard to get a good tomato anymore. As far as actual health benifits, I hear a mixed bag. This is what WebMD has to say on the subject. http://www.webmd.com/content/Article/82/97396.htm .

Hope this has helped some.

Peace

4 07 2007
EFfloresce

I’ve always gone for organic food as much as possible because I have this idea that any food stuff prepared more conciously is going to be better than the stuff they just churn out….but with the organic food industry growing and growing i am detecting a distinctly ‘mass produced’ flavour to the organic foods I am eating. The best would probably be organic produce from small local supplier..we know a man who has a small vegetable farm and I can tell you: these vegetables taste so delicious it is clear how food grown with care and love does indeed taste better.

Just shoving food in our mouths and in the mouths of our babes without thinking of where the food came from or how it was made is never an enlightened way (may my arrogance in that statement be forgiven). But we eat a balance of organic and non-organic produce simply because organic food tends to cost more…it would be very foolish of us to run ourselves into the ground financially just to insist that everything we ate was organic. I know families who have reached financial ruin purely because they have insisted on the puritanical approach to organic food.

It’s almost like the argument about cloth diapers and disposable diapers…realistically speaking there are very few mothers living apart from their mothers and sisters or extended family as we tend to do in the ‘West’ who could manage the extra work load of boiling and drying cloth nappies up…we have to be realistic (am not keen on that word, and yet this is true).

I would say that if we feed our kids as much organic produce as we can we are doing something better than just not bothering to cut down on the foods made with pesticides or the highly refined stuff…every little helps I am sure. But also to be careful not to get caught up in the idea that a child’s health will be compromised if organic food is not always on the menu.

The following link speaks of reasons to choose organic and I hope it will be of some help to you:

http://www.organicfooddirectory.com.au/why.php

4 07 2007
umarah

well i ve been using a lot of bio products (as they call here in germany) which include mil eggs bread fruits n vegetables.as far as health is concerned i m still not sure.but taste wise i will say organic is better.in milk or fruits.every thing tastes better.but since i just started recently i havent seen a mark differance healt wise.but i suppose most of the advantages stated by those who prefer organic are mostly like anti cancer etc.n i think u ve to wait for some while to see the effects.although they r slightly expansive than the inorganic ones,but i buy them for my own satisfaction.i wish there was more organic halal meat available as still the muslim community here isnt really interested in organic stuff

4 07 2007
Snowdrops

weirdly enough, there’s an organic sale just a few minutes walk away. The thig is, i don’t even know what organic actually is! Sure, I have small ideas, but not the actual thing😎. Can someone please explain *hopeless smile*🙂

4 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

loool, I had to look it up too. I didn’t know exactly what it meant.

According to standards set by the USDA, the label “100% Organic” indicates that the meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy products you’re buying are free of antibiotics and artificial growth hormones and that produce has been cultivated without pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, or sewage sludge. Likewise, any product that has been irradiated or that contains bioengineered ingredients cannot be labeled organic (to learn more, go to ams.usda.gov).

5 07 2007
carimuslima

Ok I think it depends… me personally I know this is the latest trend that is also going around with the “Going Green” movement. People are eating healthier and considering we are the fattest country in the world at the moment it’s really being advertised.

I think organic is good, but a little on the pricey side. I haven’t invested much money in organics since I can remember. One thing I do like about organics is the fact that no harsh pesticides are used on fruits and veggies oh yea and they look normal sized LOL….. not gigantics like the fruits we so often see in the markets now.

As far as organic bathing products, not a fan. Just doesn’t do it for me I’m a cosmetic queen here and most just don’t satisfy that diva in me. I do buy products that are animal testing free… just something I’m big on. So that I’m strict about. But I have tried organic bathing products and I find them lacking something maybe the bath oils are great, however the shampoos, conditioners, soaps etc, omg don’t get me started on the toothpaste won’t ever try that again LOL…. Anyway I think if organics is your peeve why not indulge in it especially if you can afford it as for me they haven’t sold me on it. But the “going green” on energy savers, and things to better our environment and minimize our pollution I do love. Hugs😉

5 07 2007
hema

organic tastes better and makes me feel better about eating it, although i think it’s just psychological. eg i’ll eat it the day after i’ve been living off junk!
plus it’s too expensive.

5 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Yeah, I bought an “organic” bar of soap once….It smelled really strong and didn’t lather. The body wash may be better but I couldn’t find that in the drugstore at the time. Although, I’m sure they have it here or in the natural stores. It is more expensive too.

5 07 2007
HijabiApprentice

I would say when at all possible buy organic for many of the reasons already stated. At least we know that having produce/meat/eggs without added antibiotics, growth hormones and pesticides is not harmful to us which can not be conclusively said about gmo produce etc.

I really wish there were more/any readily available halal free range organically grown meat. sigh

ma’a salaamah,

ha

7 07 2007
Maha Abdo

Assalamu alaikum,
I am a big fan of sustainable agriculture. However, I shy away from organics. Why? Well, for starters, they do use pesticides. They have an approved list. They are just not the same as the ones conventional farmers may use. So it bothers me that they are touted as being somehow superior in this department. Secondly, and more importantly to me, is the culture of organic. It is truly cult-like in my opinion. I have written a paper on this subject and several professors wanted to publish it. (I could email it to you if you wish.) Thirdly, organic has become trendy and so now what you have is big-business organic. This is so far removed from the concept of organic that it’s not even recognizable anymore. So, while I like the idea of organics, the implementation leaves much to be desired in my POV.

What I’d do if I were you would be to grow my own stuff in the summer whenever possible, and go to local farmer’s markets or produce stands. Many of these small scale farmers are already growing things according to organic guidelines but just can’t afford the certification process. Some may not be, though; you have to ask. The food will be fresher and therefore more nutritious (it won’t have lost as much because it isn’t sitting on a shelf or being shipped halfway around the world). And often they grow varieties that it’s not possible to grow using conventional agriculture, and these varieties taste better. A final bonus is that you are supporting local growers, and promoting sustainable agriculture, which are both goals of the organic movement, which I feel has moved away from that ideal.

Wassalam,
Maha

7 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu sister Maha,

mash’Allah, thank you for that insight. I usually do buy from the local produce stands. I do it to support the locals. Though, I never thought of it like this: “The food will be fresher and therefore more nutritious (it won’t have lost as much because it isn’t sitting on a shelf or being shipped halfway around the world).”

Mash’Allah that is an extra incentive.

Organics can be confusing. The definition says no chemicals and pesticides. However, like you mentioned, I have read articles stating that some pesticides are allowed.

I would love to read the paper you wrote and maybe post it here or you can post it on your site. I think it would be beneficial for us all to read.

8 07 2007
Maha Abdo

Walaikum assalam,
I can email it to you insha’Allah.
As I was looking for it, I discovered it, along with tons of other files, had disappeared! In my zeal for reorganizing my computer and archiving things and keeping only the active stuff on the hard drive, I found I had deleted *everything* from my college days, thinking it was backed up in my “Archives” folder.
Then I remembered that I had done a backup on my new external backup hard drive before I started messing around with my files. Alhamdullillah for external storage! I was able to find the files and restore them; insha’Allah they are all still there. We’ll see soon. Whew! That was definitely a close call! Thanks for giving me the opportunity to discover this.
Wassalam,
Maha

Leave a Reply

