There’s No Place Like Home…

5 07 2007

grandfathermtnroad.jpgMost people hold their home place dear to their heart. I know I do. I have heard the saying: “Home is where the heart is.” I suppose that is true to an extent. Though, my heart has been many places. Yet, only one place feels like home.

When, we are driving up the curvy country road, as soon as the mountains are in sight my heart begins to pound. It is as if I’m seeing it for the first time. When I get out of the car and take in the fresh air and look around at the vast natural forests and open spaces, I feel like I’m home. Listening to the people’s slow southern drawl and hillbilly slang put me at ease. I soak up every minute that I can of the place.

As we leave, I can’t help but feel a little nostalgic. Although, in my mind, I know that I can not live happily there. I know it is not the best place to bring up my children. You see, we are Muslims and unfortunately that is not a popular way of life in the small mountain communities of Tennessee and North Carolina. The word Muslim to many of the inhabitants of my small hometown is equated to terrorism. This misconception has improved significantly over the years but is still painfully obvious at times. I know that my children deserve to go to Islamic schools and I feel that we deserve to live in an area with Muslim friends. With all that I do have in common with my hometown crowd the one big thing that divides us is religion. I love living amongst Muslims and feel a peace and contentment when I am around them. Being around my Muslim brothers and sisters have negated the feelings of homesickness that I used to feel.

After a few moves, I have realized that it isn’t the people of my hometown that I’m connected with. It is the mountains, the fresh air, and the pace of life. It’s the place.

I have found these feelings to be true for most people. Whether one is from a large metropolitan area or a small southern community, He/she usually feels their hometown brings a feeling of excitement and comfort(much like a comfort food). It doesn’t matter how much you love someone or the people you are around. A place, a simple place, can still tug at your heart.

roanmtn.jpg

*Yes, the places pictured here are very near to my hometown.*


Actions

Information

12 responses

6 07 2007
umarah

i completely agree.i always felt like a outsider in this foreign land.u lived ur childhood in usa n u r still in usa.but i m from pakistan n living in europe despite all of its gd offering is really really difficult.i want to go back to my pll although not all gd memories r associated wid them.but still home is home.no doubt abt that.

6 07 2007
adikbongsu

Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakahtu Umm Yusuf,

Subhanallah …the scenery is beautiful ..and I can just imagine the rest of your home area must be as beautiful as the one you show us.

You are so lucky sis for being able to live there…I hope to be able to see it for myself one day….but first I would like to go and see the mountains in Mecca and Madinah again. 🙂

Hope you have a great weekend!…
🙂

6 07 2007
UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca"

As Salaamu ALaikum Sis:

True, there is no place like home. I can certainly relate to change and how it can affect more an adult than children. Kids can be oblivious to things around them. Alhamdulillah, you have made a move that will bring more blessings to you and the family. I wish you all the best as you get settled in a new place with new experiences, Insh’Allah.

6 07 2007
carimuslima

I can’t agree with you more… That’s exactly how I feel about my hometown. Funny you posted this because this was my feeling exactly yesterday. I love NY being born and raised there my heart is there. Another thing is that I’m a first generation American so having parents from Dominican Republic its weird but when I visit there I get all teary eyed and feel that I’m home. My heart and soul really feels that it belongs there too. Those are the only two places that I feel so close and a spiritual attachment inshallah I hope you know what I mean. Great Post, the scenary of the mountains are remarkable, on my trip to the blue ridge mountains earlier this spring really was humbling. Knowing that Allah made all of this for us to enjoy, and how small we really are to the topography of Allah’s creation. I love this post. On my top 5 list for sure. Hugs😉

6 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Yeah, hehehe. I was thinking about how we have talked about this before. You always seem to miss the larger city and I am so uncomfortable there and instead prefer the country.😉 Hey, you ever watched Green Acres? loool I’m sure you haven’t! But it reminds me of that song in the opening of the show. lol.

6 07 2007
poeticmuslim

Its beautiful your lucky you go to live in such a place I always dream about living in these type of places its so stunning . I absolutely love nature , sometimes when I medidtate I imagine myself sleeping on a bed of flowers🙂 beautiful ..peaceful ..ok so I sound weird but thats a little how jennah is isnt it ?

6 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Assalaamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu poeticmuslim,

Thanks for checking out my blog! Insh’Allah I look forward to seeing you around.🙂 While I may not be impartial, I think it is one of the most beautiful places that Allah has created on earth!

“thats a little how jennah is isnt it ?”

-Allah knows best about that. He has told us that nothing in Jennah resembles this world even though they may be similar in name.

Abu Huraira reported Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) as saying that: Allah the Exalted and Glorious, said: I have prepared for My pious servants which no eye has ever seen, and no ear has ever heard, and no human heart has ever perceived but it is testified by the Book of Allah. He then recited:” No soul knows what comfort has been concealed from them, as a reward for what they did”.(Muslim,Book 040, Number 6780).

So, this gives us even more incentives to strive for Paradise. Since there are so many beautiful places in this world that doesn’t even compare, Mash’Allah how beautiful and lovely Paradise must be!

May Allah help all of us muslims to achieve this supreme reward. ameen.

6 07 2007
poeticmuslim

sis ! I checked your blogg out before just didnt leave a comment ..because didnt have anything to say🙂

6 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Oh, Mash’Allah!🙂

Jazak Allahu Khairan!

7 07 2007
carimuslima

LOL Green Acres I think I heard of it but never seen it man… will see if they have it on youtube hehehe… want to hear the opening of the show😉

9 07 2007
Definitely A City Girl « InTuiTivE MuSliMah

[…] Yusuf I just had to make this a post from your entry on There’s No Place like Home I never saw Green Acres, but girl that intro  couldn’t be more right on LOL… That’s exactly […]

31 07 2007
» Definitely A City Girl-My 1983

[…] Yusuf I just had to make this a post from your?entry on There’s No Place like Home I never saw Green Acres, but girl that intro? couldn’t be more right on LOL… That’s exactly […]

Leave a Reply

