Tajweed,My Struggle & A Little Pep Talk to Myself!

10 07 2007

quran.jpg

So, I’m trying to learn tajweed. For those who may not know, Tajweed is the perfect recitation of the Qur’an in it’s original Arabic script. Why would I even attempt such a thing (when it is not obligatory in Islam to learn anything other than the Fatiha (first chapter we say in every prayer)? Well,

As an authentic hadith in At-Tirmithee states The Prophet (saw) said:: “Whoever reads a letter from the Book of Allah, he will have a reward. And that reward will be multiplied by ten. I am not saying that “Alif, Laam, Meem” is a letter, rather I am saying that “Alif” is a letter, “laam” is a letter and “meem” is a letter.” So increase your recitation of the Qur’an to gain these merits, and to gain the following merit as well.

I just learned the Alphabet in March and have progressed reading since then. Two weeks ago, my tajweed class began. I am not going to lie. No matter how much I practice, It is difficult for me. My teacher is wonderful and patient. Never insulting or rude.Maybe it is my southern accent that gives me a hard time pronouncing the words or maybe I just want to use that as an excuse. I don’t know. All, I know is that I have to fight myself to go to the class. I find myself making a hundred excuses to get out of it. Though, I always end up there in class with the rest of my peers being corrected over and over again. Everyone else seems to be getting it. Therefore, It is truly a humbling experience. I don’t mean to sound arrogant but I have always had a good memory and I’m not stupid either.😉 Though, this seems to be my struggle. It is what I have been given now to see if I keep on with it or if I let it go and give up. Maybe it is my test from Allah. May Allah help me to remain steadfast and give me the patience and ability to learn to recite His beautiful words. ameen.

Aa’ishah, may Allah be pleased with her, relates that the Prophet (sallallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam) said: “Verily the one who recites the Qur’an beautifully, smoothly, and precisely, he will be in the company of the noble and obedient angels. And as for the one who recites with difficulty, stammering or stumbling through its verses, then he will have TWICE that reward.” [Al-Bukhari and Muslim]


Actions

Information

13 responses

10 07 2007
ummadam

Is your class in English? I took a Tajweed class this past term in Arabic. I can’t help you at all! It was so difficult just trying to understand the teacher.

May Allah give you success.

10 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Yeah, Alhamdullilah, he is fluent in English and Arabic. I don’t think it is a problem with the teacher. He’s great. I’m just struggling.

10 07 2007
ummabdurrahman

As Salaamu Alaikum Sis:

Mash’Allah, I enjoyed reading through what you have been feeling. I think that you have already taken a big step and that was to be persistent and consistent in your learning. I think that you have been a good example of this. You have managed to achieve to learn someting that I would like to consider doing but I have found that I still need a little more time to get there, Insh’Allah. Hang in there for all of us.

Jazak Allahu Khair

10 07 2007
adikbongsu

Not to wory sis….am sure this is just a test to see how patient and strong your desire to learn tajweed….through perseverence you’ll succeed…insya-Allah

may i ask whether you ever practice by listening to how you and other read?…you know using a tape recorder…perhaps that will help…

my du’a for sis…May you succeed in your class soon…insya-Allah…

Ameen….

10 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barkatuhu,

Thanks sis blanca!🙂 Insh’Allah I will eventually get it. Just have to keep trying.

Adik, insh’Allah.🙂 Thank you for your support. Yes, I listen to myself and others read. I record the classes.🙂 Alhamdullilah.

ameen to your duas

10 07 2007
Agadir_Girl

mashaAllah sister, good for you! Not only are you rewarded for each letter of the Qur’an that you utter but you will be rewarded for the struggle you are having, inshaAllah.

Keep it up sister!

10 07 2007
Ali

mashaAllah sister. I just found your blog through wordpress tags and am truly impressed with your journey in reciting Quran in better way. May Allah SWT bless you (and all muslims) more with mercy and knowledge. ameen.

12 07 2007
youngMuslimah

i just got over w/ tajweed school, like 3 months back. it really is bautiful to read Qur’an the right way:)

12 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Mash’Allah sister, congratulations.🙂 May Allah reward you.

12 07 2007
youngMuslimah

beautiful* typo:D

12 07 2007
hema

you know i first started learning tajweed about four years ago and fell in love with it straight away. learning and teaching tajweed has been a big part of my life ever since, nothing gives me a greater buzz
you know if you struggle to learn tajweed, you get double the reward! so you’re lucky you’re finding it diffciult! subhanAllah. xx

30 07 2007
herdi

WELL, SIS UMM YUSUFF ISLAM TRULY IS BEAUTIFUL. GOD’S LOVE OVERCOMES HIS ANGER. AND IT IS HE WHO GUARD THE QURAN IN ITS ENTIRETY AGAINST CORRUPTIONS. AND IT COMES IN THE FORM OF TAJWEED. DO NOT TRY TO SWOLLOW ALL THE HUKM .BUT TRY STARTING WITH THE SIMPLE ONES FIRST AND IT HAS TO BE PRACTISED DAILY.TRULY YES DAILY. AND REMEMBER YOU ON YOUR OWN COULD NOT MAKE IT BUT SEEK HIM TO MAKE IT EASIER FOR YOU. AND ALLAH IS INDEED VERY INTERACTIVE US.

31 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Thanks for the encouragement!😀 Jazak Allahu Khairan!

Leave a Reply

