Muslimah’s Give Your Thoughts…On Hijab!

11 07 2007

You don’t have any problem as an American Muslim when you wear hijab in public? What is reactions? Why do you think some Muslim women in Islamic countries have gone away from hijab?
Do You think anybody should choose what he/she wears freely or Islamic governments must rule Muslim women to wear Islamic veil ( i mean as a law)?

This comment was recently posted on my blog. I would like all sisters who can to respond to this! insh’Allah.😀

My response:

You dont have any problem as an american muslim when you wear hijab in public?

I think this depends on where in the United States one lives. Some cities have many Muslims so people are accustomed to seeing a woman in hijab. While smaller towns, have no Muslims and have their misconceptions about hijab. I think there will always be some judgement and staring. Though, I have rarely felt in real danger. However, it is for Allah we wear hijab so Alhamdullilah, nothing can happen withouth His Decree.

What are the reactions?

Most often just staring. Maybe someone will make a comment now and then. Some people may come to us out of curiosity and ask why we wear hijab and thus learn something about Islam. Very rarely, is a woman seriously harassed for wearing a hijab. And sometimes there is NO reaction at all.

Why Do you think muslim women in muslim countries have abandoned hijab?

I don’t know. This is where I need the sister’s from Muslim countries to come in and help answer this one. I would think maybe many of them see hijab as culture, an old practice. Maybe they are more focused on the new fashions and blending in with the Western world. Maybe they didn’t grow up learning Islam and being encouraged to wear hijab. Maybe their friends don’t wear hijab so they feel the pressure to be like them.

Do you think Islamic countries should force women to wear hijab?

First of all, there are no “Islamic countries” in the world today. There are some Muslim countries. However, I dare say not one Muslim country on this earth has a ruler who implements Islamic law and principals.

Secondly, as Muslims we are commanded to enjoin good and forbid evil. Hijab is good. It is an order from Allah. We should try to encourage every Muslimah to wear her hijab proudly. However, in the end she is going to choose whether she wears it or not. If she is forced then honestly she won’t be wearing it for the right reason and may resent Islam. (MY OPINION)

OK, SISTERS! PLEASE ADD YOUR CONTRIBUTIONS HERE!


Actions

Information

15 responses

11 07 2007
youngMuslimah

assalam’alaikum

good post!🙂

Why do you think some Muslim women in Islamic countries have gone away from hijab?—> I have stayed in a ‘muslim’ country since my day one. to be precise saudi arabia. I was born and raised there and things have changed drastically. just to make it clear, hijab is NOT a rule in ksa, the abayah is. for saudi women, well you know all of them are covered from head to toe. it’s sort of become a tradition to wear the niqab. i seriously wonder how many saudis wear that out of their own will. besides there are many views on the niqab being obligatory, majority of the scholars have it that it’s not fardh ( i agree with that). in saudi, only one ruling is kind of promoted, that the niqab is fardh..women there should be made to make their own choice..
the strict (and un-islamic) traditions make young women and men rebel..that results in them going astray and trying to be ‘cool’…

the abayah has become more of a tradition than ‘hijab’ in the middle east. i am here in uae now and see the local emirati women in fitting abayahs, perfume, make up..sheesh! thats all what i can say..! hope that helps:)

11 07 2007
ummabdurrahman

As Salaamu Alaikum Sis:

The question of hijab is clear in the Quran. However, I can not judge a Muslim sister for not wearing a hijab. Every individual knows their situation. I mean what we see we interpret right. So, we have seen that there are so many different ways that women wear the head scarf. Some wear it according to their own preferences of style and others wear them the way it should. Women in Muslim countries as I have heard or seen may or may not wear a hijab for reasons that are uncomprehensible. I have known sisters who walk into a job interview wearing a hijab and are not called back or are told that if she wishes to accept a position will she be willing to compromise certain standards of dress code. It is very disappointing that such events like these happen in Muslim countries. On the flip side, you may know someone who migrates to the states and then a whole look is embraced by the sister. She is now according to her interpretation of society “free” to express herself. So, is the hijab in this matter to her not an expression of who she is but than it becomes an article of oppression. This is wrong but I know it happens when someone is trying to “assimilate” The hijab for many from what I have seen through observations or stories has been a choice. Unfortunately !!!

12 07 2007
hema

If she is forced then honestly she won’t be wearing it for the right reason and may resent Islam
this is my opinion also – although i seem to getting a lot of stick for it lately. however, i believe if a woman isn’t wearing hijaab soley for the sake of Allah and the beauty of it, then she shouldn’t wear it until she is ready to see that beauty-otherwise she will end up resenting it.

i think here in the UK people don’t blink an eyelid if they see you in hijaab because it is so common. of course, there are still some problems eg an easy target for anyone wanting to lash out at the Muslims but i think people are generally tolerant and understanding.
i’ve found a lot of it is down to your attitude. if someone is sceptical or worried about the hijaab when they first meet me, i can usually change their mind in a few seconds by smiling, a few kind words and before you know it they are thinkin”hey she’s just like me under there!”
unless of course they’re thinking “i’m just gonna smile and pretend to be nice and then leg it as soon as possible!” hhmmm

12 07 2007
Shahrazad

Salam again. Thank you really, you answered my questions one by one.🙂
About hijab as a law, now in my country Iran, wearing hijab is a must and it is a law like driving laws. By the way the hijab government wants, is not that much difficult. I mean tunic and pants and scarf also is admissible in Iran and no force or law to wear niqab or burqa or bla-bla. Just the wearing based on islam. But it is a must. Anyway i feel so many iranian girls loose the real meaning of hijab and they cover some of their hair just bcs it is a must. And then some clothes they wear as hijab are more noticeable than unveil. That’s why i asked your opinion about it and you answered good. I agree with you. La ikraha fiddin..

12 07 2007
adikbongsu

Salam ‘alaik to All,

Reading all the comments so far, brings a lot of insights to the thoughts of others beside one’s own. Thank you because it makes me realise how fortunate that in Singapore, freedom to where the hijab was not an issue. Women are allowed to wear the hijab. The only issue face is when one wants to wear it during schooling period.

For in Singapore, only those attending the Madrasah are allowed to wear the hijab during lessons while those in secular school can’t.

But once you reach tertiary level, you may do so.

Hope more comments will be posted here.

Thank Umm Yusuf, visiting ur site has become a must for me for I learn a lot each time I drop by. 🙂

12 07 2007
EFfloresce

I have not read the comments to this post but will answer the question from where I am (new ‘hijabi’).

Hijab as clothing is a very valuable tool for me to remember what it is I am doing. The first time I slipped into the clothing of hijab I felt an incredible burden loosen from me and I let out a sigh of relief. Purely as clothing, the hijab style is a liberation from the tyranny of the modern ‘western’ overtly sexual fashion. Hijab clothing works on so many levels to make us more ‘God concious’ and more careful in our behaviour as we strive to be human. One treads gently on this Earth when in hijab.

And let us not forget that hijab is for men too!

Hijab reminds me to behave in a way that is condusive to connecting with the Creative Source, Allah. We do need help here, after all.

But it is not just about what we wear..since I have met muslim women in ‘full hijab’ who behave in a way I do not see as Islamic..and I have also met so called ‘scantily clad’ women who have behaved in ways that are in the spirit of Islam. Who are we to judge?

So the clothing is only secondary to the behaviour and the inward composure and constant rememberance. Wearing hijab without meaning..or without choice…is a waste of time. It just ‘looks’ good, but is not, in that case. I wouldn’t want my daughter to live in a land where she was forced to wear hijab. No thankyou! But at the same time I appreciate it when she choses hijab herself as a way to keep her connection to the Almighty One strong. Hijab as choice is respectable. Hijab without choice is a whole other matter.

I don’t really like taking my hijab clothing off when at home, I become the same old unfocused me of yore as soon as I am ‘exposed’…and behind closed doors…so I tend to embrace the freedom of hijab clothing at home a lot too. I just move better, act better and am a better behaved person in hijab clothing than in ‘normal’ clothing.

I have had a lot of reaction on the street as it is rare to meet a muslim where I live..so most of the negative reactions have sprung from the general public ignorance. I would consider toning my hijab clothing down in some respect (maybe to headscarf ‘farmer’s wife’ style and neckscarf covering neck) if I began to get violent responses. This is after all, common sense. When I visited a muslim country (long time ago) as part of a package tour, the women were told (not advised) to cover up their bodies and wear hats or head scarves as a mark of respect to the majority and to protect ourselves. We still looked like ‘western’ women, but then we looked like western women who respected that it wasn’t ‘done’ to see half undressed women in that country. We were still stared at though.

I want to live and die a muslim (submitting to the will of Allah) but at the same time I would not endanger the rights of my children to walk down the street unhassled. We have to live. I don’t like offending people by the way I dress, but it does happen. One of the main reasons (I am getting) for hijab was to avoid being maltreated, hassled and misunderstood. If the society I have chosen to live in is so ignorant as to see me as a target for violence purely because I wear hijab, then I would obviously have to protect myself and my family from that. I would get creative.

12 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Mash’Allah some great imput.😀 Alhamdullilah.

For me, living in the deep south. Unfortunately, I’m painfully aware of racism here. Though, in my hijab, I have yet to receive a real threatening comment. ALHAMDULLILAH!.

Before, when I lived in the mountains of NC/TN, I was the ONLY Muslim in town. In fact, the closest masjid was over 100 miles away. Though, only once, I felt threatened in that place. Which ultimatley came with my decision to leave there.

Through my travels in the south, I have found that most men will nod at me (tip their hat if you will). While the majority of the snares and sarcastic comments come from the women. Maybe it is their own jealousy and egos. I don’t know. I do know that the women do tend to be more critical though.

But, If it comes down to choosing obeying Allah or living in a certain place, then I will choose to move rather than to incur the wrath of Allah on myself. insh”Allah.

12 07 2007
kekasihsetia

Assalamu’alaikum,

Beautiful post!

Your response to the last question was right on point! People get the concepts of Muslim countries and Islamic countries mixed up. As for:

Why Do you think muslim women in muslim countries have abandoned hijab?

Personally it’s because they do not know the reason WHY they wear it. To them its a form of dressing. They grow up seeing all the women around them dress that way. Though they value modesty, but at times it’s merely cosmetic. When the situation isn’t encouraging, they simply take it off.

Hijab is not just a piece of clothing. To don on the hijab one most adopt the personality that goes along with it.

Here in my country, Nigeria, Islam is predominant in the nothern region. These people are held by the non-Muslims in the country as the paragon of a perfect Muslim. Yet there is a high late of illiteracy among them. A lot of them memorize the Quran, but lack understanding and application of it. There are a lot of Muhammeds and Fatimas out there who don’t know the five W’s of their religion.

May Allah forgive me if I have misjudged them, but from my personal experience, this much I can confirm.

12 07 2007
HijabiApprentice

Asalaamu Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuhu,

Umm Yusuf,

Love the post and the comments. I think I will copy the questions and post it on my blog (linking back to you of course).

Oh, I too live in the deep south and there are few visible Muslim here but alhamdulillah I haven’t been openly treated poorly. Stares? Yes.

ma’a salaamah,

ha

12 07 2007
Amanda

I live in the south as well and although I am not Muslim, who knows what I am, I think that your hijabs are beautiful. I think that the level of devotion you have in order to wear it is one of the most beautiful things there is. I see them as a banner of pride in your morals and values. In essence, to me, they make you the women you are. I went to school with some Muslim children so they do not strike me as something unusual. I’m still friends with the one of them, actually even though she now lives in Atlanta😦 Ladies hold your heads high and let the rest think what they want. Their opinions do not matter anyway. Sometimes when someone makes you uncomfortable it’s not from hatred or misunderstanding, it’s from jealousy. I learned that lesson at an early age having 4 sisters. I also learned that beauty is as beauty does and that part of beauty is in being mysterious and your hijabs truly are a mystery for a lot of southern people. We’re slow in the south, we will eventually come around.

13 07 2007
kekasihsetia

Umm Yusuf, you said: Through my travels in the south, I have found that most men will nod at me (tip their hat if you will). While the majority of the snares and sarcastic comments come from the women. Maybe it is their own jealousy and egos. I don’t know. I do know that the women do tend to be more critical though.

You know I get the most scathing remarks from women, while the men are genuinely curious. And while the men commend me occasionally, women always try all sort of tricks to make me take it off if not confess that I’m not comfortable wearing it. Aside from their ignorance, honestly I believe it’s because they see you doing something they know deep down they too ought to be doing. Any human being, no matter how depraved knows modesty when they see it.

Wa alaikum salam.

14 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

I think you may be onto something kekasihsetia🙂 I think as women we all know what we should do deep down. Though, our society has conditioned us to equal our self worth with our beauty and men admirers. It’s sad, really sad.

Thanks for stopping by again Amanda, I sure hope the southerners come around. I don’t think we’re slow though, hehe.🙂 Ok, maybe stubborn and set in our ways….;)

Glad you liked the topic ha! I had to get a new computer. Can you send me your blog adress again, ha?

16 07 2007
nai

nice entry. I have come acroos before of the site of one brother in Islam whom wrote something regarding Hijab and how to wear hijab for the beginners. I really find that he wrote a remarkable entry about hijab but unfortunuetly I did not remember his url. His name maybe Ahmad or kind of that

20 08 2007
hijab

There are videos on youtube about how to wear the hijab just type in how to wear hijab or hijab styles and there are several of them that come up from basic to advanced styles. This really helps sisters keep that hijab up properly.

28 09 2007
hijab store

I know i saw this one on youtube, its my first time seeing such videos about hijab styles

Leave a Reply

