Not Just A Stroll In The Park…You think I speak Arabic?!

23 07 2007

Yesterday my husband and I took our kids to the park. Well, this is the south, home of fire ants.  We returned home about five p.m. and all seemed well. My one and a half year old had fallen asleep on the way home. So, I immediatley put him to bed once we got home. He continued sleeping until three a.m. He woke me up screaming. I thought, well yeah he’s doing this because he went to bed early. So, I went into his room and tried to get him back to sleep. He kept screaming. I knew at that point that something was wrong. I turned on the light and my precious little boy was red, his eyes, his nose,  his ears were all swollen. I immediatley woke my husband and we whisked him off to the E.R.

Well, once at the E.R. the adventure (it seems better to call it an  adventure rather than what I would really like to call it) began. We waited four hours just to see the doctor. During that time, a man came in not breathing. In front of us, the doctor cut his throat and inserted a  tube. Then, a couple of physchiatric patients were roaming the halls mumbling all kinds of junk while the nurses assigned to them tried  to keep them from “commiting suicide.” One young fourteen year old girl was brought in overdosed.  All this to witness on a Monday morning. Who said monday’s are boring…..not if you work in a hospital. That is for sure!

So, once the doctor came in she diagnosed my son with an allergic reaction. He was given a dose of steroids and benydryl. After two more hours of “observation” we were allowed to come home with a prescription for steroids and directions on how to give benadryl and apply topical creme to the bites.

My husband took the baby outside while I settled the insurance. Well, as I was settling the insurance (and may I say ALAHMDULLILAH (thanks and praise for Allah) that we have insurance) a Muslim brother came and gave me salaams. Then, proceeded to try to speak Arabic with me.  I explained to him that I don’t speak Arabic.  Then, he asked if I wasn’t a Muslim. So, I told him yes, a Muslim American. Well, then the charm came out.Here he came with questions and introductions and smiling and trying to shake my hand. He asked If I needed him to help me. It was all fine and good. Though, I was so tired that I could barely hold my head up.

Finally, I got my insurance settled and as we stopped at the Pharmacy an American man came up to me and asked if he could practice his arabic with me. I was like sorry to dissappoint you, I don’t know a word of Arabic. Then, that brought out the questions and answers.  He kept trying to speak Arabic throwing words in after I explained I don’t speak Arabic. Finally, he patted me on the shoulder and told me to have a blessed day and kept saying May God bless you. It was really weird to get approached twice in one morning by people trying to speak Arabic.

A simple stroll in the park turned into this whole fiasco. Alas, I may never look at the park the same way again or more likely I will forget it all once I finally get some sleep. It’s funny really. I would  totally laugh if  this were a movie. 😉


Actions

Information

12 responses

23 07 2007
UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca"

As Salaamu Alaikum:

Wow.. what an experience. First of all, I am happy to know that your son is on his way to recovering. I hope you never go through this again, Insh’Allah. The Arabic approach was quite unexpected and I have never experienced anything like this. Alhamdulillah, you are back home and Insh’Allah no more park visits for at least now.

23 07 2007
youngMuslimah

assalam’alaikum

alhamdulillah your baby is alright..try making him drink honey first thing in the morning. In the words of our beloved Prophet sal Allahu al’aihee wasallam, honey has a cure for everything, except death.

24 07 2007
muslimahlocs

as salaamu aliakum,
glad to know that your son is ok. those allergic reactions are scary. i had a similar experience in wal-mart one day. this guy with red hair and fair skin asked me in arabic if i spoke arabic. at least i understood that part. i told him no and he went on to tell me how he had learned a few key phrases to impress some of his muslim co-workers. he fooled me. i had him pegged as a syrian for sure. you just never know. insha Allah, we will both learn to speak arabic soon.

24 07 2007
adikbongsu

Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh Umm Yusuf,

how are you and kids now?…esp. the little one?…hope he’s recovering well, insya-Allah.

what an encounter….and its pretty weird cos why do these ppl assume that just because we are muslims, they assume we all can speak arabic…hehehe.

I myself do not know how to speak arabic, only am able to use a few words….still learning though… 🙂

anyway, hope you all had a good rest after “the adventure”…..

Syafakallah to the little one!… 🙂

24 07 2007
Aaminah

Asalaamu alaikum.

May Allah protect your son! How scary! Yes, honey in warm water is helpful for these things.

I thought what with your experience with the Arabic issue you would probably also find this post interesting. http://kameelahwrites.blogspot.com/2007/07/hijab-does-not-equal-foreigner-so-stop.html

It’s kinda funny how some people avoid us as if getting close to us or speaking to us might make them “catch” Islam as if it is a dreaded disease (you gotta laugh or you’ll cry), but others find us so fascinating that they just can’t get enough and stare and try to hard to ingratiate themselves with us. I really feel badly for people who think they need to do that. It’s okay to just be normal around me!

24 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu sisters,

Thanks for your kindness.🙂

Alhamdullilah he is doing fine today, seems to have made a complete recovery. His medicine isn’t going down without a fight though. So, insh’Allah tomorrow I will mix some of it with milk and honey. That should make it go down easier. insh’Allah. Thanks for the suggestions.🙂

Sis Aaminah, how is your family? That post was very interesting. Thanks for sharing. Lol….I live like 5 minutes from a military base. So, I get soldiers coming up to me occasionally to try to practice Arabic with me. I wish that I did speak Arabic, I could probably make a lot of money! lol It was just weird that 2 people came up to me on the same day not really willing to believe that I don’t speak Arabic. What was even funnier was that one was a Muslim and the other…….I don’t know but I don’t think he was a Muslim. Both of them acting the same way with me like they didn’t believe it, just couldn’t comprehend that I don’t know anything other than the usual prayers, salaams, and a few Islamic phrases. Instead they kept dropping Arabic in while talking to me (maybe trying to make me slip up and reveal I actually speak it?! LOL TOO FUNNY. Surely it wasn’t such a conspiracy). lol I don’t know it was just funny at the time……Maybe it was just that my lack of sleep made me delirious thinking everything was funny.😉

25 07 2007
Bubbles

Poor baby. Alhamdulilah he’s much better. What an ordeal!

The Arabic thing was funny though, hehehe… Stereotypes *shrugs*

26 07 2007
Amy

Salaam

I know what you mean about the brothers coming up offering to help with everything… many of my (dare I say the word?) coworkers are always checking on me to make sure I don’t need any help… help with what, God only knows.

26 07 2007
carimuslima

OMG sis I can’t believe he got bitten by those fire ants again Subhanallah poor baby😦 Alhamdulilah he’s ok now and you guys got the med’s for his allergic reaction.😉

Ok so all of this from a stroll in the park ha… I really don’t think you will see a stroll at the park again… well I totally agree this was a definite adventure and although you could barely keep your eyes open I’m sure you will remember this day forever😉

LOL and about that Muslim brother hahahahahha… is all I have to say omg this never ends… forever Muslim and confused for being Arab hehe… LOL have plenty of those too these days especially after Elise is at Summer Day Camp and the trips well… that should b an upcoming post😉

Well it seems that this Monday was definitely a circus, action packed movie, fiasco, adventure LOL totally exciting to say the least. Made a great post sis… At least you were part of the ongoing show of ER and front seated for the action LOL😉

26 07 2007
Umm Yusuf

Assalaamu Alaikum wrwb Carimuslima and Amy &Bubbles,

I know carimuslima…apparently according to the doctor, the more you are bitten the more allergic you become. Meaning, if you are exposed to it more the allergic reaction becomes more likely. So, even though he didn’t have an allergic reaction when he was bitten before, this time he did.

Yeah, front row seat for sure. It was like a circus there.

lol..Amy! I totally know what you mean. They’re so eager to “help” when they see us alone. It’s like the charm comes out. However, when my husband is with me rarely brothers offer to “help” me. HEHEHE

28 07 2007
Umm Layth

That’s what I was going to say. Your body produces more histamine the 2nd time and on, because now your body is ready to fight the invading bodies.

I’m really glad your son is okay sis. Allergic reactions are no joke at all. My husband almost died from one a few years ago, and by Allaah, it was so scary. He stopped breathing completely, but Alhamdulillaah he made it through okay.

Our bodies are an amazing machine, but as amazing as they are, they are also very weak – and without Allaah’s Mercy, we are absolutely nothing.

30 07 2007
ummumar

Salaam alaikum,
You may find it helpful to always carry children’s liquid benadryl and an anti-histamine cream with you. If you can catch it quickly enough–and if the reaction is not severe–you may be able to avoid the ER. May Allah bless your family.

Leave a Reply

