The Prophet Muhammad(saw)’s Marriage to Aisha

17 08 2007

This is easily one of the most controversial and debated topics among Muslims and non-Muslims.  Many Muslims do not even know how to answer questions about this topic and instead choose to ignore it or lie about it. While many non-Muslims use this marriage as an opportunity to insult the Islamic faith and portray the Prophet Muhammad (saw) as a vile man.

Well, I found this lecture and powerpoint presentation to be excellent in explaining the marriage of the Prophet Muhammad to Aisha.  It should answer all questions and show the reality of the times.  I have given two links here for your conveinence.

The Presentation accompanied by the lecture:

http://www.islamictube.net/view_video.php?viewkey=c4ec58c0063a90deb396

The Power Point Presentation without the lecture:

http://www.sunnahfollowers.net/ppt/ali/Prophets-Marriage-to-Aisha_files/frame.htm


Actions

Information

16 responses

17 08 2007
dancingmoogle

You know I have often thought that the world hasn’t changed, just our perceptions of it. I was raised in Alabama, and at 16 my grandmothers began badgering me about when I was going to find my husband. They were both married at 16, and considered this to be “old maid” status. My great grand mother was 13 when she got married, and her mother was 11. I have modern perceptions of the world (as this is the time period in which I live), but I also understand the culture and the society of the time period, and this was the norms for the peoples of that time and place.

I am not surprised that a SBC preacher said these things about the Prophet (Sorry I’m not Islamic so not sure what to put here). Thing is that I have heard Christian men say back home, “Old enough to bleed, old enough to breed.” Which is an old concept. I believe it is less about what this preacher believes and more his attempt at discrediting any religion except his own brand of religion.

Peace

18 08 2007
adikbongsu

Assalamu’alaikum UmmYusuf,

Jazakillah khair for the links, very gud indeed 🙂

18 08 2007
adikbongsu

My late teacher, once said the same concerning the marriage between Saiyidatina Aisyah r.a. and Rasulullah s.a.w.

“after the prophet’s death, Saiyidatina Aisyah r.a. one of Islam’s greatest scholars, consistently called upon by the Companions for clarification on numerous Islamic matters. ”

this sentence explained clearly why Allah decreed this marriage. The marriage was not base on lust but base on Allah’s wisdom in ensuring that after Prophet Muhammad demise, his knowledge on Islam and values live on thru Saiyidatina Aisyah r.a.

Wallahu ‘alam.

19 08 2007
Shahrzad

I heard in west, women used to marry early. It is good they look at their history.. By the way How marriage of prophet and Aisha is something unusual in 1400 years ago when My grandma’s aunt got married at age of 8 years old, around 85 years ago? She is still alive..

19 08 2007
confusedaboutlife

even if the prophet swa didn’t marry aisha ra , the non muslims will always have something negative to pick on him .
commen sense, if he was vile why did aisha ra love him so much . would she even be a scholar in islam ?

19 08 2007
tradicionalista

Also, we must remember that Aisha rady Allahu anha was engaged to someone else BEFORE that broke and she married the Prophet salaAllahu alayhi wa salam so she was definitely around her marriage age

21 08 2007
Henrik Ræder Clausen

Let us add a couple of Bukhari for clarification:

Sahih Bukhari 5.234
Narrated Aisha:
The Prophet engaged me when I was a girl of six (years). We went to Medina and stayed at the home of Bani-al-Harith bin Khazraj. Then I got ill and my hair fell down. Later on my hair grew (again) and my mother, Um Ruman, came to me while I was playing in a swing with some of my girl friends. She called me, and I went to her, not knowing what she wanted to do to me. She caught me by the hand and made me stand at the door of the house. I was breathless then, and when my breathing became Allright, she took some water and rubbed my face and head with it. Then she took me into the house. There in the house I saw some Ansari women who said, “Best wishes and Allah’s Blessing and a good luck.” Then she entrusted me to them and they prepared me (for the marriage). Unexpectedly Allah’s Apostle came to me in the forenoon and my mother handed me over to him, and at that time I was a girl of nine years of age.

Sahih Bukhari Volume 8, Book 73, Number 33
Narrated ‘Aisha:
I never felt so jealous of any woman as I did of Khadija, though she had died three years before the Prophet married me, and that was because I heard him mentioning her too often, and because his Lord had ordered him to give her the glad tidings that she would have a palace in Paradise, made of Qasab and because he used to slaughter a sheep and distribute its meat among her friends.

22 08 2007
Umm Yusuf

yep, those hadiths are adressed and listed in the power point to my knowledge.

10 09 2007
tahir adamu

I say thanks to who write this hadith on the screen for muslim and non muslim ,and pls try and be sending me any tthing aBOUT ISLAM SAKKA LLAHU KHAIR

6 11 2007
arooj

Very good hadiths,and also great page on hiw to be a muslim

13 12 2007
Asim Siddiqui

The slides related to prophet (pbuh) and aisha were informative and good but what was the need to badmouth christians. Islam always talks about peace and love then why do we need to say bad things about other religions while talking about Islam. Just tell about Islam and clarify the doubts of people.

3 03 2008
Mehnaz

Asalamualaikum wa Rahmatullah ! SUBHANALLAH! jazakALLAH khairan MAY Allah reward u immensly in this duniya and Akhira for providing that linK! I LEarnt alot ! And MAde me make some person silent!🙂 ALHAMDULILAH! ALLAH HU AKBAR!

4 04 2008
mohammed

iam so luky that iam a muhmin of my allah allahamdhoolillah all the prouds to allah only allahuakbar

26 07 2008
Ibrahim

Thank you very much for your link.
I find very informative and educatives.
Masha-Allah wa Jazak Allah Hassanul Jazaa.

IF ANTI ISLAM THINK THAT OUR PROPHET MUHAMMAD SAAW MARRIAGE WITH MOTHER OF BELIEVERS AISHA RAZI ALLLAHU ANHA WAS WRONG ACCORDING TO THEM THEN:-

I would like to tell those who are accusing our Beloved Prophet Muhammad SAAW and Mother of Believers Aisha’s marriage that to bring us an evidences from bitter enemies of our Noble Prophet Muhammad SAAW accusing our Beloved Prophet Muhammad SAAW marrying mother of belivers Hazrat Aisha Siddiqa Razi Allahu anha?

Have they proof that will suport their claims from bitter enemies of Allah’s Messenger of his time?

14 08 2008
The Prophet Muhammad(saw)’s Marriage to Aisha « Celoteh PakNik

[…] by PakNik on August 14, 2008 Umm Yusuf wrote in her blog, ” This is easily one of the most controversial and debated topics among […]

2 09 2009
I M SUHAILN AHMED

The Prophet Muhammad SAW
i m so luck i m muslim and my allah allahamdhoolillah all the prouds to allah only allahuakbar
and
All muslims my brother and sisters

Leave a Reply

