My Ramadan Diary: Day 3

15 09 2007

It’s day three and my body is adjusting nicely to the new routine.  I’m not quite as hungry or thirsty as I have been the past two days. The nausea is gone and so is the light headedness. Alhamdullilah.  I feel like I should probably buy some gatorade or other sports drink since I simply can’t drink water all night and am beginning to feel a little dehydrated.

Today, I was reflecting on how blessed I am to have my husband, children, and soon insh’Allah my in laws to share Ramadan with. I have someone to encourage me, to wake me for suhoor, and to occasionally take over the kitchen duties for iftar.  This prompted me to post an article I found from sound vision (Ramdan Guide for Single Muslims) https://southernmuslimah.wordpress.com/2007/09/15/a-ramadan-guide-for-single-muslims/

I’m the type of person who probably wouldn’t wake for suhoor if I didn’t have someone to nag me until I get up. Which of course would result in me being even more hungry and grumpy throughout the day not to mention missing out on the blessing of suhoor.  There is just something about sitting there in the wee still hours of the morning when everything is peaceful and eating a small meal to prepare for the day’s fasting.  The anticipation of the potential reward and blessings of the day are fresh in the mind. Yes, this early morning is magical to me even though I have such a difficult time waking. Odd, isn’t it?😉

As for my kids….My three year old keeps trying to feed me throughout the day. lol. I keep explaining to him that I’m fasting and trying to educate him some with Ramdan. I try to make my home a bright enviroment throughout Ramadan so he will not feel left out once his cousins talk to him about their holidays (Christmas, Easter). So, I let him make decorations and hang up alongside the one’s I purchase. I tell him stories and just try to make it as fun as possible for him. And YES, It is hard to cook the meals for the kids and feed the baby and not eat myself. hehe.


Actions

Information

5 responses

16 09 2007
UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca"

As Salaamu ALaikum Sis:

Mash’Allah, Ramadan is such a beautiful experience for everyone. May you continue to rejoice it. Thanks for sharing the article you have posted as well.
🙂

17 09 2007
Irving

What a sweet post🙂 Ramadan Mubarak dear Sister, to you and your family.

Ya Haqq!

17 09 2007
muslimahlocs

ramadan mubarak.
it is hard to feed little ones during ramadan. i am constantly on guard against tasting my child’s food as is my habit to make sure that it is not too hot or too cold. it’s a hard habit to break. may Allah make it easy for all the mothers (and everyone else too).

18 09 2007
rayhana

Assalaamu’alaykum warahmatullaahi wabarakaatuh dear sis,

Ramadhaan Mubarak! Alhamdulillaah.. another Ramadhaan dawns upon us… I am not fasting though as am breastfeeding my son still. May Allaah accept your fast, good deeds and ibaadah, and increase you in that which pleases Him, ameen!

muslimahlocs, it is ok to taste food when fasting, as long as it does not go down your throat.

Such as swallowing one’s saliva [or sputum], the dust of the road, sifting flour and so on are all overlooked: Ibn ‘Abbas ruling is that: “There is no problem with tasting liquid food or something you wish to purchase.” Similarly one can taste food (when cooking) with the tongue without swallowing.
Source: http://www.qss.org/articles/ramadan/4.html

18 09 2007
adikbongsu

Subhanallah….your kid is soo cute, shows how much he loves you by offering you food🙂

continue posting sis, i always look fwd to reading more stories of your daily lives🙂

syukran!

Leave a Reply

