In-Laws, Non Muslim family breakthrough, and Aliens in America

19 10 2007

Well, there has been a whirlwind of activity here with my in-laws visiting, eid, and we even made a trip to my hometown with the in-laws. It was all great fun.  I have basically only found time to post articles of benefit and of course the eid around the world post which was a bit time consuming. Insh’Allah you guys liked it!?

 But now that things have wound down some, I thought that I would do a personal post.

My eid this year was fabulous. The highlight of my eid was my non muslim family members calling to wish us “Eid Mubarak.”  This is the first time that they have done so. We have truly come so far in understanding and tolerating each other.  I mean, when I first converted I was basically put out of the house. Now, years later we have built our relationship back up enough that they are comfortable participating somewhat in our holiday. It is a beautiful thing.

Another highlight was having my in-laws with us.  Eid in our medium sized community is not even close to the magnitude of eid in their home country.  I was really worried that they would be disappointed. So, I asked my husband to take us to a larger community for eid. Mash’Allah everyone had a wonderful time! My three year old is still happily chattering about it. Later, my in-laws told us that the reason their eid was so happy was because we were with them and the size of the party didn’t matter. Mash’Allah how sweet is that! Alhamdullilah, I’m blessed with lovely in-laws.  I’ll be sad to see them go home.

Having my in-laws here has also improved  my bi lingual capabilities. One of my in laws only speaks their native language. So, I was forced to speak it pretty much day in and day out. The funny thing was asking my three year old (who is quite fluent) to translate some things. loool😀 But overall, my husband and in-laws have been complementing me on my usage of the language. So, I’m improving. Alhamdullilah. Practice makes perfect, as they say.

Unfortunatley, I have a strained muscle in my back which has been quite painful. I guess it is no wonder given that I haul 20-35 lbs. kids around. So, the doctor said. I finally went to the doctor and got the diagnosis. Insh’Allah it will be better soon. Alhamdulliah for everything, though.

On another note, I have been watching the new CW show: Aliens in America. It is about a midwestern family who decide to take in a foreign exchange student in hopes of boosting their dorky son’s reputation. They are expecting a white,blonde haired, blue eyed jock and instead a pakistani boy dressed in a kameez and kufi shows up (Raja). It goes on to chronical his life with the host family and highschool. 

The show has it’s sweet moments, moments of seriousness. One of those moments came at the end of the pilot episode. The mother had purchased a plane ticket back to Pakistan for Raja  but then she sees him and her son (who forms a bond with Raja) packing. She makes a comment about his parents missing him and he tells her that his parents are dead. At that moment, she sees him not as a “Muslim” or “Terrorist” but as a boy.  So,  he stays.

However, other than those few moments of seriousness and comedy, the show is basically geared more towards pre-teens. It seems as if it belongs more or less on disney channel.  I still like it though , if nothing else because it portrays Muslims as normal people rather than terrorists or terrorist supporters. 


Actions

Information

5 responses

20 10 2007
UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca"

As Salaamu Alaikum Sis:

Alhamdulillah, you had a great Eid with your family. I am glad to read how your family was prepared to greet you and Alhamdulillah for this positve moment.
The t.v. program sounds intersting. You need to keep us updated with the series from time to time. When you first posted “Aliens in America.” I never thought of immigrants. My first thoughts was is this a new science fiction movie? Until I read on and put one and one together. (hehehe)
Sounds like an intersting program as you describe it. I am sure the writers of the program have to really keep the stereotypes at a low.

Keep us updated sis!!

I enjoyed reading your entry.🙂

20 10 2007
Shahrzad

You in laws are arab and speak arabic? I really try to learn speaking in Arabic. When i read a piece of arabic written i almost can understand what it says, yet i am not able to talk! Big problem..

20 10 2007
Umm Yusuf

Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

Blanca,

If you would like to check out Aliens in America you can watch online at: http://cwtv.com/cw-video/aliens-in-america

And yes, I thought the same thing when I first heard of the show. hehe. Alhamdullilah It was definatley a milestone in my relationship with my non muslim family. I think meeting my in-laws really made a good impression on them too. Alhamdullilah.

Shahrzad,

Hehe, Actually my in-laws speak Indonesian and Dutch languages. My father in law can speak Arabic but is not fluent. He is also pretty good with English but I wouldn’t say fluent. My mother in law only speaks Indonesian and pretty good in Dutch. My father in law is Dutch/Indonesian so he speaks both fluenty. I can speak VERY LITTLE dutch but my Indonesian is improving. I think the only way to really learn is either take classes or be in a situation where you have to learn to communicate. If you always have your langauge as a crutch it’s harder to learn…….I think. And Alhamdullilah you can at least do a little Arabic. I don’t know much at all. I think it is a hard language to learn.

20 10 2007
Shahrzad

Thank you for your advice. That’s what i wanna do.
I have big chance that my mom tongue language is persian. It has similar letter to arabic. (we have all 28 letters of arabic. But persian is 32 letters) And of course some words can be similar, even with different meaning.
Farsi doesnt have any tajwid or accent like arabic. so i learnt tajwid by own. Like i’ve learnt english by own..

I read arabic very fluently. And i think in grammer i am better than an Arab lol
But i can not speak. I have problem in words. I think your advice about living in an arabic region is good idea. That’s i did before (Qatar, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia and UAE) and during that time my arabic quickly got well. I learn languages fast. Yet when you dont talk something, you will forget so..

16 09 2008
Maryam's mom

Asalaamu Alaikum

Came across this blog accidentally. Interesting though since my hubby is from Malaysia so its basically the same culture.

Leave a Reply

