Isn’t The Woman There My Sister???

25 11 2007

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
in Islam, I mean to say
For I just took my shahadah
at the masjid here today

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
I openly ask without any qualms
The one who just walked past me
Without offering me her salaams

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
Though she stands alone to pray
Each time I move to touch her shoulder
She takes a step and pulls away

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
the lady that is not of my race,
for both of us are muslim women
with varied hues making up our face

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
Who laughed and made fun of me
And those other sisters of mine who listened
Doesn’t their silence make them also guilty

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
Who didn’t call me when I was sick
For she seems to only show concern
for those special sisters, in her own clique

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
Who I invited for iftar in my home
But unfortunately she did not make it
How I wish she had bothered to phone

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
Don’t we both love our religion – this Deen?
Then why am I sharing my lament
About her being uncaring, indifferent and mean?

Isn’t the woman there my sister?
Won’t she open up and try to treasure
The love I want and need to share with her
As we both seek Allah’s Merciful Pleasure

Taken from: www.islamicpoems.com


Actions

Information

10 responses

26 11 2007
Zainab

Asalamu alaikum

I really like this poem,I had this very poem on my blog awhile back.

26 11 2007
Aaminah

Asalaamu alaikum.

Excellent.

26 11 2007
adikbongsu

Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakahtu,

Subhanallah….its beautiful and there’s so much to reflect on the meanings of this poem…

Jazakallah Umm Yusuf for sharing wif us
🙂

27 11 2007
Anonymous

As Salaamu ALaikum Sis:

Wow, truly beautiful. So much to think about.

Thanks for sharing
🙂

28 11 2007
Umm Khalid

Assalamu Alaikum,
Beautiful!! Sadly this seems to be the thoughts and feelings of too many people

29 11 2007
ummabdurrahman

As Salaamu Alaikum:

Thanks for sharing this. Simply true and personal.
🙂

1 12 2007
Irving

A sad and true poem, but poignant and lovely also. Unfortunately the experience of many converts, I have heard, when faced with sisters of others cultures.

Ya Haqq!

3 12 2007
amal

asalam alaykum

that was beautiful ! so true . so heartfelt.

5 12 2007
Aishah Schwartz

Assalamu Alaikum,
Indeed sad…however it reminds me of advice I was given long ago…”Don’t pay attention to what Muslims do (or don’t).” We just have to push on, because in the end we stand as only one before Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala on the Day of Judgment.
Ma’Salaama.

2 06 2008
Umm Wafa

Assalamu3alaykum… may Allaah make a nice sisterhood between us as moslemah

Leave a Reply

